The Union “as Domestic Abuse” – Condemned by Scottish Women’s Aid and Disowned by Yes Scotland.

On 23rd July I sent a copy of the attached poster to Scottish Women’s Aid in the following terms:

Hello Scottish Women’s Aid.

I would be grateful if you could let me know your views on the comparisons
being made by Yes Scotland between the UK and an abusive relationship. I
enclose a link which illustrates my point:

I have never been in an abusive relationship, but members of my family
were (in the 1970s)and I find the comparison offensive and inaccurate.

Thanks

Peter A. Russell

I received the following reply on 28th July:

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your e-mail. And bringing this poster to our attention.
We agree that the poster does use an inappropriate and offensive comparison to someone living with domestic abuse. However, we have checked and this poster was not produced by the official Yes Scotland campaign, but by an individual. We have sent an e-mail to the official yes campaign to alert them to this.

Best wishes
Lydia Okroj
Service Development Manager
Scottish Women’s Aid

Hopefully this will put a stop to such offensive garbage ever being peddled again.

Leave a Reply

